Heat not moving upstairs unfortunately

I really appreciate anybody’s insight into this dilemma. I purchased a 3 level 2400 sq ft home (800 sq ft per floor).

 
 

My layout:

 

Basement is in ground and my furnace (aire-flo 80 eff) is also in basement. I have forced air in the basement and on the main level. I also have a gas fireplace (with no fan) on the main level. Baseboard heating upstairs.

 
 

Problem:

 

I’ll set my thermostat to 20 and it will feel great in the basement and main floor. But upstairs it is about 4 degrees different (crude test but my baseboard thermostat clicked on around 16 degrees). When walking upstairs to top floor you can almost feel cold air rushing down the stairwell.

 
 

Solution: the only things that I can think of are a ceiling fan upstairs to pull air up. Install a fan in fireplace to push air up the stairwell.

 
 
 

Thank you for reading this and am looking forward to seeing your responses

Heat not moving upstairs unfortunately

Leave a comment